Connect with us

International Junior Rugby League

2020 New Zealand Resident 16s Squad Named

2020 New Zealand Resident 16s Squad Named (Photo : NZRL Media)

2020 New Zealand Resident 16s Squad Named

Author : NZRL Media

New Zealand Rugby League wishes to congratulate the following selected in the 2020 New Zealand Resident 16s squad who will face the New Zealand Maori Rugby League 17s on the 24th October at Rotorua International Stadium.

The fixture will be live-streamed on NZMRL and NZRL Facebook pages and will bring a close to Day One of the annual New Zealand Maori Rugby League (NZMRL) Tuakana Tournament.

17 players will be named from the below 19 to take the field on the day, congratulations to the following:

Name Club District | Zone
Alesana Mailei Linwood Canterbury/southern
Ben Peni Papatoetoe Counties Manukau
Benaiah Ioelu Mt. Albert Akarana
Cassius Tia Marist Akarana
Demitric Sifakula Otahuhu Counties Manukau
Dickie Terepo Otara Auckland
Felix Fa’atili Hornby Canterbury/southern
Francis Manuleleua Otahuhu Counties Manukau
Henry Teutau Marist Akarana
Jacob Laban Randwick Wellington
Jayden Harris Glenora Akarana
Jeremiah Matautia Otara Counties Manukau
Matthew Logopati Linwood Canterbury/southern
Nathaniel Tangimataiti Mt Albert Akarana
Salesi Foketi Manurewa Counties Manukau
Tamakaimoana Whareaorere Te Puke Coastline/upper Central
Te Hurinui Apanui Twidle Turangawaewae Waikato/upper Central
Tre Fotu Marist Akarana
Xavi Taele Otumoetai Coastline/upper Central
Head Coach – Phil Gordon (Akarana)

Asst Coach – Peter Butler (Mid Central)

Asst Coach – Alex Parker (Upper Central)

Manager – Clarissa Percival (Mid Central)

Head Trainer – Ben Collins (Akarana)

Asst Trainer – Clayton Amer (Wellington Rugby League)

NZMRL will select an U17s team from their Rangatahi Tournament just been which celebrated its 20th year over the weekend.

The highly successful NZMRL Rangatahi Tournament has provided a pathway for many young Kiwi players over recent years; 2020 NRL debutants Jordan Riki, Jackson Ferris and Matt Timoko have all previously played in the NZMRL Rangatahi Tournament.

In 2017, now Brisbane Bronco, Jordan Riki, captained the NZMRL U17s against NZ Resident 16s in a close game, where the NZ Resident 16s came away with the win 32 – 28.

John Devonshire, NZMRL Chairman says, “The 2020 season has been a huge challenge for all sectors across our code. To be able to stage a representative game for our elite players is awesome.

“We the NZMRL are happy to accommodate the NZRL in what we see as an exciting match up. We are very proud of our NZ Maori 17’s Rangatahi team and wish them well. It is one thing to play for your country, it is another to play for your people, kia kaha te tima Maori.”

More posts from this section

Recent Posts

More in International Junior Rugby League