Connect with us

Community Rugby League

Minto Cobras awarded #RESPECT Club of the Year

Minto Cobras awarded #RESPECT Club of the Year (Photo : NSWRL)

Minto Cobras awarded #RESPECT Club of the Year

Author : NSWRL Media Release

Minto Cobras awarded #RESPECT Club of the Year

CrashClaim - Making friends by accident

Minto Cobras JRLFC have been crowned the 2022 #RESPECT Club of the Year after successfully promoting the NSWRL initiative which encourages positive game day behaviour toward referees.

The Cobras will receive a prize to the value of $2000 thanks to the support of McDonald’s, with 250 clubs across the state taking the pledge this season.

“The club has a new committee this year and they are working really hard to ensure they run a good club,” NSW Community Rugby League Manager Peter Clarke said.

“I am pleased to see that their efforts throughout this weekend have lead to them receiving this award.

“A positive game day environment is important in attracting new players and referees to our game and it has been a great initiative with Clubs across the state all getting involved and spreading the message.”

#RESPECT Round, which was held in May, focuses on game day behaviour toward referees and serves as a reminder for more than 100,000 players, spectators and officials involved in Community Rugby League to promote a positive environment.

Community Rugby League team captains and referees enter the field of play together and give a thumbs up as they line up for a photo before the game, as well as sharing messages using the #RESPECT hashtag on social media.

#RESPECT Round also featured during the Country v City representative weekend with all 16 team captains and referees giving a thumbs up before kick-off across the three venues.

The #RESPECT campaign started in 2016 with 16,000 pledges being made online by participants across the game in line with the NSWRL’s vision to eliminate poor behaviour and promote a positive environment for all players, coaches, referees, volunteers, and families

Related Links

NSW Under 19s return to Origin arena with a vengeance

NSW Women’s Under 19s claim Origin three-peat


2022 Peter Mulholland Schoolboy cup Rnd 1 Draw, Results, Ladder & Players’ Stat’s
Wednesday, June 22

12pm: St Dominic’s College v Hunter Sports High (Action Photo’s SOON)

12.30pm: Patrician Brothers Blacktown v Westfields Sports

1.30pm: Hills Sports v Endeavour Sports High

Wednesday, June 29

11am: Farrer MAHS v All Saints Maitland


Illawarra Sports High v Hallam College

Erindale College v The Grange P-12 School

Patrician Brothers Fairfield v Holy Cross College, Ryde

Bass High v St Gregory’s College

*Games expected to be scheduled for start of Term 3

Tuesday, May 31

Tuesday, May 31

11am: Patrician Brothers Fairfield 64 – 0 Farrer MAHS

Wednesday, June 1

11am: Holy Cross College 38 – 24 All Saints Maitland

11.30am: Erindale College 64 – 0 Illawarra Sports High

12pm: Endeavour Sports High 20 – 14 Patrician Brothers Blacktown (Action Photo’s Monday 13 June)

Wednesday, June 8

12pm: St Dominic’s v Bass High

1.30pm: Hunter Sports High v St Gregory’s College

11am: The Grange P-12 College v Hallam College

Thursday, June 9

Westfields Sports High v Hills Sports High

Queensland Results

Langer Cup

Ipswich SHS 24 – 16 Keebra Park SHS

Aaron Payne Cup

Mackay State High School 0 – 32 St Patrick’s College

Related Links


More Schoolboy Cup News

More NSW School footy news

Action Photo Galleries

NSWRL Junior Rep’s 

NSW School Footy


More posts from this section

Recent Posts

More in Community Rugby League