Connect with us

Harvey Norman Womens Premiership

Sharks HNWP Team Round One

Sharks HNWP Team Round One (Photo : Steve Montgomery)
Sharks HNWP Team Round One (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Sharks HNWP Team Round One

Author : Sharks Media
Sharks HNWP Team Round One
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 2023 HNWP team (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 2023 HNWP team (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Under the guidance of newly appointed coach Ruan Sims, the Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Sharks face a tough first up assignment when they take on the Wests Tigers in a Grand Final rematch.

Beaten in a thrilling overtime Grand Final in 2022, the Sharks will be keen to make a round one statement in the match to be played at Campbelltown Sports Ground this weekend.

It's Back - 2023 Members Jersey - Pre-Order NOW

It’s Back – 2023 Members Jersey – Pre-Order NOW

While the experienced Maddi Studdon returns in the halves and Kiwi international Kiana Takairangi takes her place in the Sharks backline,

A number of new faces will take to the field for the Cronulla side in the match getting underway at 11.30am on Saturday.

See below match details and the Sharks team list.

The Tarsha Gale Sharks have a round one bye.

Sharks v Wests Tigers Grand Final re-Play
Saturday, February 4, Campbelltown Stadium, Kick-off – 11.30am

1 Cassie Staples
2 Brandii Davis-Welsh
3 Monique Donovan
4 Kiana Takairangi
5 Ella Barker
6 Zali Hopkins
7 Maddie Studdon
8 Sarah Boyle
9 Sienna Stewart
10 Natasha Penitani
11 Rhiannon Byers
12 Tayla Curtis
13 Ellie Johnston


14 Felicity Powdrell
15 Jazmon Tupou-Witchman
16 Mackenzie Lear
17 Chloe Saunders
18 Stephanie Ball

Weststigers Women’s team begins title defence

Author : Wests Tigers

Wests Tigers premiership-winning Harvey Norman Women’s team has been named for this weekend’s season-opener, as the team begins its quest to go back-to-back.

Weststigers Harvey Norman Women's team at St Gregory's College Campbelltown

Weststigers Harvey Norman Women’s team at St Gregory’s College Campbelltown

And what better way to get the ball rolling than a Grand Final rematch against Cronulla Sharks at Campbelltown Sports Stadium.

Yep, the same team, at the same venue, where a triumphant Wests Tigers team claimed its maiden title in the NSW Women’s Premiership.

Weststigers 2022 HNWP Champions (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Weststigers 2022 HNWP Champions (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Weststigers 2022 HNWP Champions (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Weststigers 2022 HNWP Champions (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Jesse Sergis & Kenzie Apps with their Grand Final Medals (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Jesse Sergis & Kenzie Apps with their Grand Final Medals (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Oh what a feeling: Wests Tigers crowned 2022 HNW champions at Campbelltown

The nucleus of that team remains, mixed with a handful of new additions, including a gold-medal-winning Australian Bobsledder, Ashleigh Werner.

Ashleigh Werner in pre-season training

Werner missed out on Olympic Bobsleigh qualification last year due to a bout of Covid and is eager to make her Wests Tigers debut.

I feel so incredibly honoured to be stepping onto the field for Wests Tigers.

Ashleigh Werner

Also pulling on Wests Tigers colours for the first time is second-rower, Ruby Jean Kennard.

Head coach Adel Hage says the introduction of an NRLW team for Wests Tigers this season presents new challenges for his squad.

Missing from the Round 1 line-up is captain Emily Curtain and Botille Vette-Welsh, who are both returning from knee injuries.

“With the NRLW later in the season, we’ve got to keep a closer watch on player workloads, and that’s the case with Emily and Botille,” said Hage.

It’s a lengthy season with the NSW Women’s Premiership followed on by the NRLW, and we’re mindful of that.

Adel Hage

Two competitions in the one year also provides added opportunities for Wests Tigers women.

“This season, as opposed to last season, many of our players will be playing for NRLW contracts, so that’s exciting,” added Hage.

“It’s great that we have the core of last year’s squad on deck for the new campaign, with a few new faces as well.”

Hage is keen to build on the style of play which guided the team to grand final glory last season.

We want to encourage a style of footy that is expansive and entertaining.

Adel Hage

“I know our NRL squad has been preparing with an attacking mindset, and we will see that flowing through the women’s teams as well.”

Match: Wests Tigers v Sharks

Wests Tigers:

1. Tess Staines
2. Bec Pollard
3. Josie Lenaz
4. Jess Whelan
5. Ash Werner
6. Georgia Nies
7. Losana Lutu
8. Bianca Bennetts
9. Ebony Prior
10. Christian Pio (c)
11. Ruby Jean Kennard
12. Taylor Osborne
13. Najvada George


14. Sophie Curtain
15. Jessica Kennedy
16. Hope Tevaga
17. Jay Jay Taylor


18. Erin Coll
19. Imogen Gobran
20. Kiara White
21. Eliza Siilata

Related Links

2022 HNWP Grand Final Action Photo Gallery

Photo Gallery-2022 Lisa Fiaola Gala Day SHARKS v WESTSTIGERS

2023 Harold Matthews Cup Draw

2023 Tarsha Gale Cup Draw

2023 SG Ball Cup Draw

HNWP Rnd Draw

More NSWRL Junior Rep’s news

NSWRL Junior Reps Trial game Action Photo’s

Roosters v Dragons

Tarsha Gale Cup 

Harold Matthews Cup

SG Ball Cup

Bulldogs v Sharks

Harold Matthews Cup

SG Ball Cup 

Tarsha Gale Cup

Harvey Norman Wonmens Premiership


More posts from this section

Recent Posts

More in Harvey Norman Womens Premiership