Connect with us


Group 7 Junior Kick Off Rescheduled

Group 7 Junior start Rescheduled

Group 7 Junior Kick Off Rescheduled

Author : Group 7 Junior Rugby League

Group 7 Junior start Rescheduled

CrashClaim, making new friends by accident

In addition to the International Age Competition (13-16) being pushed back to the 23rd of April, in the spirit of uniformity, our Mini’s & Mod Leagues will now start on the same weekend.

This wasn’t an easy decision, but with the current state of fields.

Impending wet weather & the fact the majority of our juniors haven’t been able to train or play trial matches the decision had to be made.

We love Rugby League & want to see our Juniors back on the park, but we have a duty of care for our players that we will continue to uphold.

Group 7 Junior start Rescheduled

View our Featured Volunteer

Nowra Bomaderry Jets volunteer Sarah Aldous is quite simply irreplaceable to The Jets.

From playing LLT to organising merchandise from working in the canteen to organising player function Sarah is a Jet through and through.

At the Jets 2020 Awards Night Sarah was deservedly announced Jet of the Year and awarded coaches cup for all her efforts.

All clubs need volunteers like Sarah and without them it would be impossible to continue.

Group 7 Junior start Rescheduled Group 7 South Coast Rugby LeagueSouth Coast Group Seven Rugby League how It All Began

Rugby League was formed on the South Coast oon April 30th 1913.

A meeting was held at the Prince of Wales Hotel Nowra.

Representatives of Nowra Warriors, Nowra Wallabies, Kangaroo Valley and Captains Point Death Adders clubs were in attendance.

The competition was known as the Shoalhaven League with Harold Maroney President, Cecil Rauch Secretary and T. Wilkinson Treasurer.

On May 10th a Sydney team played a game at Nowra to explain the rules of rugby league to the locals.

On May 21st 1913 the first competition games were played.

Nowra Warrios defeating Kangaroo Valley 10-0 and Nowra Wallabies defeating Captains Point Death Adders 9-5 at Nowra Showground.

Naval College was another competing team.

Warrios completed the season undefeated and was declared Premiers.

At the same time attemps were made to form a Northern League competition at Kiama but the New South Wales League refused to affiliate them .

Several of the northern clubs attemted to join the Shoalhaven league and on May 30th 1914 a meeting held at the Brighton Hotel Kiama formed the South Coast Rugby League.

This name was retained until 1955 when it became Group Seven and in 1980 the name become South Coast Group Seven.

Clubs in the 1914 competition were Kiama, Bombo, Naval College, Jamberoo, Gerringong, Berry, Nowra Warrios and Kangaroo Valley.

In the final Gerringong defeated Nowra Warrios 11-10.

With the exception of breaks due to World Wars One and Two, rugby league has continued to be the leading spectator sport during winter along the coastal area.

Related Links

Group 7 South Coast Rugby League

More NSWRL Junior Reps News

More posts from this section

Recent Posts

More in NSWRL