Connect with us

2021 Schoolboy Cup

Illawarra Sports High beat Erindale College in thriller

Daily Telegraph reporter Willams Tyson interviews Illawarra SHS players James Walsh (L) and Viliami Mahe (Photo : Steve Montgomery)
Illawarra SHS hooker Viliami Mahe runs into the Erindale Defence in the Schoolboy Cup at Collegians on Wednesday (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Illawarra Sports High beat Erindale College in thriller

Author : Williams Tyson Daily Telegraph

Illawarra Sports High has survived an almighty scare to beat Erindale College in the opening round of the Schoolboy Cup.

Watch the replay of the NRL Schoolboy Cup as Illawarra Sports and Erindale College go head to head.

Illawarra Sports High students will be looking to follow in the footsteps of Canterbury youngster Aaron Schoupp who has been named to make his NRL debut for the Bulldogs this weekend.

The naming of 19-year-old centre Schoupp for Trent Barrett’s side is a timely boost for Illawarra who host Canberra’s Erindale College in their blockbuster NRL Schoolboy Cup opener on Wednesday in Wollongong.

It was only 19 days ago Asomua and the Raiders’ SG Ball team won the grand final, beating the Illawarra Steelers 18-14.

Viliami Mahe and Dilan Asonoski were part of the losing Steelers side that will suit up for Illawarra High where they will have a rare opportunity to avenge their grand final loss.

Ash Barnes was the premiership coach for the under-19s Raiders side, and he will continue his coaching duties for Erindale.

“It’s quite interesting that the grand final was a couple of weeks ago and we come up against them in the first round of Schoolboys Cup.” Barnes said.

Opposing coach Nick O’Hara underlined the importance of the occasion for his Illawarra side.

“I know our boys are pretty keen to get back at them and see if they can get one back over them,” O’Hara said.

Erindale will be without their Canberra SG Ball performers Jack McDougall and Joseph Delle, who had solid performances for the Raiders but are both recovering from ankle injuries.

Illawarra will be reinforced with young guns James Walsh, Viliame Amone and Ethan Cliff who all dominated in the Steelers Harold Matts team.

“They’re three of our key players,” O’Hara said.

“We’ve got some high-level representative players that have been playing a heap of footy already this year, the culture around the side is really positive.”

Daily Telegraph reporter Willams Tyson interview Illarra SHS players James Walsh (L) and Viliami Mahe (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

Daily Telegraph reporter Willams Tyson interviews Illawarra SHS players James Walsh (L) and Viliami Mahe (Photo : Steve Montgomery)

The young Illawarra Steelers crop will have to overcome fellow Harold Matts rising talent Siamani Leuiluai, who had a strong season for Canberra.

“We didn’t have an overly successful Harold Matts campaign this year, but Mani was a real shining light there,” Barnes said.

“He’s an exciting young talent and a very powerful outside back.”

Little separates the two teams who met in their last encounter two years ago that saw Erindale overcome Illawarra in a close game.

Given the recent Raiders and Steelers SG Ball and Harold Matthews rivalries, this match is set to be an instant classic.

The NRL Schoolboy Cup match will be live-streamed from Collegians Sports Stadium from 1:00 PM for subscribers.

Illawarra SHS 26 – 22 Erindale College


Erindale College

1. Regan Carr
2. Connor Harrison
3. Siamani Leuluai
4. William O’Malley
5. Alex Sweeney
6. Jake Mercer
7. Mitchell Evans
8. Ben Castle
9. Jack Anderson
10. Jordan Eti
11. Ben McSpadden
12. Deekon Parsons
13. Michael Asomua

14. Owen McCaughan
15. Sam Norris
16. James Andrew
17. Clinton Mauava
18. Trae Robinson-Beattie

Coach : Ash Barnes
Trainers : Mick Howard (Orange Shirt), Sebastian Gray (Yellow Shirt)

Illawarra SHS

1. James Walsh
2. Samson Wood
3. Te Umuariki Heremia-Tukere
4. Ethan Cliff
5. Yazan Hammad
6. Jakai Dixon-Davis
7. Marley Cooke
8. Josh Williams
9. Viliami Mahe
10. Malakai Oxley
11. Viliami Amone
12. Nuku Vatuvei
13. Dilan Asanoski

14. Isaiah Hegadus
15. Leo Asanoski
16. Tristan Dawson
17. Keagan Cawsey
18. Toby Scotcher

Coach: Nick O’Hara

Schoolboy Cup Rnd 1 Fulls Results, Ladder & Player Stat’s 

Illawarra SHS v Erindale College Action Photo Gallery

Holy Cross College 30 defeated All Saints College @ Cessnock Sportsground

Wednesday 12 May

Patrician Brothers Fairfield 40 defeated Farrer MAHS 14 @ Farrer MAHS

Endeavour Sports High 20 defeated Patrician Brothers Blacktown 16 @ Panthers Stadium

Endeavour v Patrician Bro’s Action Photo Gallery

Thursday 13 May

St Dominic’s College defeated Bass High 26-0 @ Belmore Oval

St. Dom’s v Bass Action Photo Gallery

St Gregory’s College v Hunter Sports @ St Gregory’s Campus

Hills Sports v Westfields Sports @ Ringrose Park

Westfields v Hills Action Photo Gallery

Wednesday 19 May

Illawarra SHS v Erindale College

Illawarra SHS v Erindale College Action Photo Gallery

More posts from this section

Recent Posts

More in 2021 Schoolboy Cup