Connect with us


QLD Under 18 Emerging Origin squad

QRL Under 18 Emerging Origin squad (Photo : QRL)
QRL Under 18 Emerging Origin squad (Photo : QRL)

QLD Under 18 Emerging Origin squad

Author : Michael Hillier QRL Media

QLD Under 18 Emerging Origin squad named

The Queensland Rugby League is pleased to announce its Under 18 Emerging Origin squad as part of the elite Queensland pathways program.

Head coach Guy Williams will manage a 30-member squad throughout a two-day training camp at the Queensland Sports and Athletics Centre (QSAC) in Brisbane on May 7-8.

Under 18 Emerging Origin squad named - Breakfast with the stars
The Emerging Origin program aims to help develop highly skilled rugby league players for Queensland representation.

Williams, a former Hostplus Cup player and coach with the Central Queensland Capras, will be supported by experienced staff who will coach and mentor some of the state’s most talented male players.

The Under 18 squad includes 11 players who have been named to play in Sunday’s Auswide Bank Mal Meninga Cup grand final between the Townsville Blackhawks and Souths Logan Magpies.

The Blackhawks players selected are Sean Bourke, Zack Lamont, Damon Marshall, Tekelu Mene, Jamal Shibasaki, Elekana Suavai and Wil Sullivan.

Fellow Emerging Origin squad members Lourace Brown, Stanley Huen, Israel Leota and Devonte Vaivela will be on show for the Magpies, who are coming off a 26-24 victory over the Norths Devils.

Townsville qualified for the decider on the back of a 38-14 semi-final victory over the Sunshine Coast Falcons.

The performances of both the Devils and Falcons caught the eye of selectors, with eight players across the two clubs named in the Under 18 squad as well.

A number of eligible players were not included in the 18s squad announced today as they will be part of the Queensland 19s Origin training squad to be announced next week

QRL Under 18 Emerging Origin squad

Name Club

Tory Bath – Norths Devils
Sean Bourke – Townsville Blackhawks
Lourace Brown – Souths Logan Magpies
Antioch Faitala – Brisbane Tigers
EJ Finau – Burleigh Bears
Arama Hau – Burleigh Bears
Stanley Huen – Souths Logan Magpies
Ryan Jackson – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Mitchell Jennings – Sunshine Coast Falcons
Xavier Kerrisk – Mackay Cutters
Zack Lamont – Townsville Blackhawks
Liam Le Blance – Norths Devils
Israel Leota – Souths Logan Magpies
Damon Marshall – Townsville Blackhawks
Haizyn Mellars – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Tekelu Mene – Townsville Blackhawks
Seth Nikotemo – Burleigh Bears
Karl Oloapu – Norths Devils
Baden Robinson – Mackay Cutters
Mitchell Rogers – Redcliffe Dolphins
Joseph Shannon – Burleigh Bears
Jamal Shibasaki – Townsville Blackhawks
Elekana Suavai vTownsville Blackhawks
Wil Sullivan – Townsville Blackhawks
Tyreece Tait – Norths Devils
Jeremy Trappett – Wynnum Manly Seagulls
Darcy Turner – Norths Devils
Jack Underhill – Sunshine Coast Falcons
Devonte Vaivela – Souths Logan Magpies
Kallum Weatherall – Norths Devils

Related Links

More Queensland junior footy news

Mal Meninga Cup Grand Final Draw

Mal Meninga Cup GRAND FINAL team lists

More posts from this section

Recent Posts