Connect with us

Laurie Daley Cup

Tigers ready to roar in Laurie Daley Grand Final

Guyra's Billy Youman sets after a Western Ram opponent in a recent Laurie Daley Cup clash.
Guyra's Billy Youman sets after a Western Ram opponent in a recent Laurie Daley Cup clash.

Tigers ready to roar in Laurie Daley Grand Final

Author : Group 4 Rugby League

Greater Northern Tigers take an unchanged side into Saturday’s Laurie Daley Cup Grand Final in Sydney.

The Darryl Rando-coached Tigers tackle Central Coast Roosters in the Country Championship Grand Final at HE Laybutt Field in Blacktown.

The venue, built in 2019 at a cost of $20 million, is the home ground for the Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles and Blacktown Workers Football Club.

The Andrew Johns Cup Grand Final will also be played Saturday morning at the same venue with the Central Coast Roosters also engaged and playing the Illawarra South Coast Dragons in a Grand Final timed to kick off at 11:00 AM.

Darryl Rando is delighted he doesn’t have to make any changes to a side that bounced back from a last round loss to Western Rams to beat the Rams 16-10 in last weekend’s semi-final at Kandos.

“We have an unchanged side,” Darryl Rando confirmed.

“Hopefully we play the same way we did in the first half last week (led 12-nil at half time) for the full 70 minutes this Saturday.

“I hope they go out and enjoy themselves, they enjoy playing together. If they are good enough they’ll win.”

The side has battled errors all of its Laurie Daley Cup campaign and were at their worst in torrential rain when beaten by the Roosters on the Central Coast.

“We had a few play the ball errors last weekend too but if we can improve those and play like we did in that first half then they can win.”

The Tigers will bus it down to Sydney on Friday and train Friday afternoon/evening at a venue to be decided.


HE Laybutt Field Sydney.


1 Mitch Henderson, 2 Billy Youman, 3 Blake Johnston, 4 Corben Hampstead, 5 Alex Lawrence, 6 Ethan Antzakles, 7 Pichai Dixon, 8 Mark Simon, 9 Harry Reid, 10 Jake Clydsdale, 11 Luke Smith, 12 Hayden Bull, 13 Sam Fechner, 14 Jesse Cadalbert, 14 Joash Boney, 16 Daniel McMillan, 17 Charlie Parsons, 18 Ned Chapman. Coach – Darryl Rando.


1 Beau Newlands, 2 Jacob Smeaton, 3 Lachoneus Paki, 4 Michael Whitton, 5 Brodie Pintatara, 6 Wiremu Tibbutt, 7 Jessi O’Neill-Pethebridge, 8 Daniel Peters, 9 Tyler Moriarty, 10 Lachlan Mears-Crabbe, 11 Jye Boyle, 12 Brody Briggs, 13 Marlon Guest, 14 Leo Elton, 15 Ethan Myers, 16 Ryan Sheehy, 17 Fletcher Powell, 18 Jett Frendin.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Laurie Daley Cup