Connect with us

New Zealand School Footy

NZRL Secondary Schools

NZRL Boys Champions (Photo from NZRL)
NZRL Boys Champions (Photo from NZRL)

NZRL Secondary Schools

Author : NZRL

NZRL Secondary Schools

CrashClaim - Making friends by accident

NZRL Secondary Schools De La Salle and Manurewa achieve National crown trifecta for Auckland College

What a fantastic week of Secondary School Rugby League.

For six days, Puketawhero Park hosted the New Zealand Rugby League Secondary Schools competition.

Throughout the week, all the competing Auckland schools played some great rugby league and represented Auckland with integrity and pride, but there could only be one champion in each grade.

The tournament concluded on Saturday afternoon with Auckland schools managing to do the trifecta winning three National grades.

Southern Cross girls’ campus took out 3rd place in the tournament winning their 3rd vs 4th final against Taikarua Composite 44-0, a fantastic effort to get on the podium.

Mount Albert Grammar School Boys finished 7th place overall and 3rd in their respective pool, a tough tournament for the Mount Albert boys, but it will give the side even more motivation to perform better next year.

St. Paul’s College and Southern Cross Campus boys were tied on every possible stat when finishing the round robin.

The first ever coin toss was held to decide who would move onto the main Semi Finals.

Southern Cross won the coin toss breaking the hearts of the St. Paul’s boys who have been great all season.

Southern Cross boys matched the girls taking out their 3rd vs 4th game beating St Thomas 22-14.

Boys Championship Grand Final

Manurewa High School 18 – 4 Te Whanau A Noa

The first final of Saturday saw Manurewa High School take on Te Whanau E Noa.

Manurewa were slow starting on attack and gave plenty of opportunities to their opposition.

However, they held strong and scored back-to-back tries to finish the half up 10-0.

The second half Manurewa came out a lot stronger and managed to hold their lead to be crowned the champions in the boy’s championship division 18-4. Christian Auvaa was exemplary in Manurewa’s performance earning himself the MVP award

Girls Championship Grand Final

Manurewa High School 8 – 4 Auckland Girls Grammar

The Girl’s final was played out between rivals Auckland Girls Grammar School and Manurewa High School.

Auckland Girls were the favorite to take out the competition, but the Manurewa Girls put on a solid performance taking an 8-0 lead which they would fiercely defend.

Auckland Girls made it close by bringing the deficit to four points.

But Manurewa held on to be crowned champions winning the contest 8-4. June Westerland was outstanding throughout the tournament and the final being crowned MVP.

Westerlands try and tough work on defense was a key factor for Manurewa winning the game.

Boys Premiership Grand Final

De La Salle 42 – 6 Rotorua Boys

The NZRL Secondary Schools tournament concluded with the Boy’s Premiership Grand Final.

De La Salle College took on the hometown hero’s Rotorua Boys High School.

Both sides played great footy throughout the week and were deserving of a spot to compete for the title of National Champions.

De La Salle were dominant from start to finish and made sure Rotorua didn’t get the fairy tale finish they desired.

De La Salle won the contest 42-6 in a blowout final.

Kaylise Fatialofa was a big standout in a dominant side. He made devastating runs, scored two tries and set up two. A great performance to earn himself MVP.

NZRL Wrap:

2022 Tournament teams:


2022 team of the tournament - Boys

2022 team of the tournament – Boys


2022 team of the tournament - Girls

2022 team of the tournament – Girls

Related Links

NZ Rugby League

De La Salle NZRL Secondary Schools Champions

International Rugby League news


More in New Zealand School Footy